BLOG TOUR: Bluebird by Sharon Cameron | Review

BLOG TOUR: Bluebird by Sharon Cameron | Review

This have been really intense lately, and I’m trying to get back into the game all over the place. Thanks to those who probably know what I’m referring to. Thanks also to RockStar Book Tour for hosting this tour and for having me on it.

Also click here to enter the giveaway! 3 winners will receive a finished copy of BLUEBIRD! This is open to all US readers, so good luck!

Disclaimer: I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. Thank you to RockStar Book Tour, Scholastic Press, and Sharon Cameron for this free copy. All quotes in this review are taken from the Advanced Reader Copy and may change in final publication.

It was nice being able to read a historical fiction novel that didn’t solely focus on WWII. While Eva did have her origins in WWII in Germany, she travels to New York City and deals with the Cold War while trying to chase down the Nazi that she seeks revenge on. Don’t we love revenge stories? I know I do.

From the synopsis, one wouldn’t think that this would have a dual narrative involved, but with a lot of other historical fiction novels, it would have been a good guess to assume. We have the story of Eva, a German girl coming to NYC for revenge. We also have a story about Inge who also happens to be a German girl but with a totally different secret. Will these two stories come together somehow?

This is my first time reading a novel from Cameron and as some other reviews have mentioned, going into Bluebird with as little information as possible truly make the experience more worthwhile. If you’re curious as to where the term “Bluebird” comes from, it’s from a horrible experimentation taking place on concentration camps that both sides want for themselves. It’s terrible that some of the most terrible things in history have some of the nicest names, am I right?

As with most historical fiction novels taking place during some sort of war, there will be themes and scenes that may be triggering for some. Keep that in mind as you read through this, and enjoy the ride.

Bluebird

by Sharon Cameron
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: October 5, 2021
Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook
Genre: Historical Fiction
Length: 464 pages

Goodreads, Amazon, KindleAudibleB&NiBooks, KoboTBDBookshop.org

Author of Reese’s Book Club YA Pick The Light in Hidden Places, Sharon Cameron, delivers an emotionally gripping and utterly immersive thriller, perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys’s Salt to the Sea.

A historical novel, set in postwar New York City.

In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for the streets of New York City, stepping from the fiery aftermath of one war into another, far colder one, where power is more important than principles, and lies are more plentiful than the truth. Eva holds the key to a deadly secret: Project Bluebird — a horrific experiment of the concentration camps, capable of tipping the balance of world power. Both the Americans and the Soviets want Bluebird, and it is something that neither should ever be allowed to possess.

But Eva hasn’t come to America for secrets or power. She hasn’t even come for a new life. She has come to America for one thing: justice. And the Nazi that has escaped its net.

SHARON CAMERON’s debut novel The Dark Unwinding was awarded the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators’ Sue Alexander Award for Most Promising New Work and the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award, and was named a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection. Sharon is also the author of its sequel, A Spark Unseen; Rook, which was selected as an Indiebound Indie Next List Top Ten selection, a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection, and a Parents’ Choice gold medalist; and The Forgetting, a #1 New York Times bestseller and an Indie Next Pick of the List selection, and its companion novel, The Knowing. The Light in Hidden Places received two starred reviews, was a Reese’s YA Book Club pick, and received fantastic media coverage for Sharon’s strong research and affecting prose. It has sold in 14 languages. Sharon lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee and can be found at sharoncameronbooks.com.

Week One
9/21/2021YA Books CentralExcerpt
9/22/2021Kait Plus BooksExcerpt
9/22/2021Rajiv’s ReviewsReview
9/23/2021Lifestyle of MeReview
9/23/2021Sometimes Leelynn ReadsReview
9/24/2021Book-KeepingReview
9/25/2021Just Another ReaderReview
Week Two
9/26/2021Review Thick & ThinReview
9/27/2021Balancing Books and Bottles withReview
9/28/2021Fire and IceReview
9/28/2021The Pages In-BetweenReview
9/29/2021#BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee BlogReview
9/30/2021A Dream Within A DreamExcerpt
9/30/2021BookHounds YAExcerpt
10/1/2021MomfluensterReview
10/1/2021Locks, Hooks and BooksReview
10/2/2021@CurlygrannylovestoreadReview
Week Three
10/3/2021Two Points of InterestReview
10/4/2021Lisa Loves LiteratureReview
10/4/2021@minnesota_mailerReview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s