BLOG TOUR: To Bleed a Crystal Bloom by Sarah A. Parker | Review

BLOG TOUR: To Bleed a Crystal Bloom by Sarah A. Parker | Review

This is my first ever tour for Turn the Page Tours and I’m so excited to have been accepted to be part of this tour! Thanks again so much for having me. Be sure to click on the banner for the rest of the tour schedule! Two more days to go, but there’s so many great posts from earlier on the tour. Check them out!

There’s also a giveaway for this tour, so be sure to read the whole post to get more information and see how to enter. Good luck to all that enter!

Disclaimer: I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. Thank you to Turn the Page Tours and Sarah A. Parker for this free copy. All quotes in this review are taken from the Advanced Reader Copy and may change in final publication.

Fair alert: the writing in this novel can be considered flowery, so keep that in mind if writing like that isn’t your style. The writing is beautiful though so keep that in mind too!

I haven’t read a dark Rapunzel retelling before, so this was a cool experience. The world that Parker built seemed intense and dark. The women are strong but the men… let’s keep that at that. I thought it was really immersive and I felt obligated to continue to fall down the rabbit hole even when there were times that I wasn’t completely sure what was happening. Sometimes I like books where you’re not really sure what’s going on, but you want to know more anyway so you keep going. That’s basically what happened for me, and it was a wild ride.

All of the different relationships in this novel had their own special thing… and while I’m not completely sold on some of the relationships in this novel, it was interesting to see how Orlaith interacts with each man in her life. One of the reviews I read questioned whether this was setting up a potential Reverse Harem situation. Honestly, I’m still not sure about that, but if you read it, let me know what you think! I’m not adverse to Reverse Harems – some of them can be really fun and healthy – so I’m curious to see if this will be answered in the next book.

This is also the first part of a series, and I’m curious to see how it will go next.

To Bleed a Crystal Bloom

by Sarah A. Parker
Series: Crystal Bloom #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Release Date: July 24, 2021
Genre: ADULT FICTION—Dark Fantasy, Romance, Retellings > Rapunzel
Length: 486 pages

Goodreads | Amazon

“What a pretty flower to keep locked in a big, rocky tower.”

Nineteen years ago, I was plucked from the heart of a bloody massacre that spared nobody else.

Small. Fragile.

An enigma.

Now ward to a powerful High Master who knows too much and says too little, I lead a simple life, never straying from the confines of an imaginary line I’ve drawn around the castle grounds.

Stay within. Never leave.

Out there, the monsters lurk. Inside, I’m safe … though at a cost far greater than the blood I drip into a goblet daily.

Toxic, unreciprocated love for a man who’s utterly unavailable.

My savior. My protector.

My almost executioner.

I can’t help but be enamored with the arcane man who holds the power to pull my roots from the ground.

When voracious beasts spill across the land and threaten to fray the fabric of my tailored existence, the petals of reality will peel back to reveal an ugly truth. But in a castle puddled with secrets, none are greater than the one I’ve kept from myself.

No tower is tall enough to protect me from the horror that tore my life to shreds.

To Bleed a Crystal Bloom is a dark Rapunzel reimagining full of immersive imagery and breathtaking angst. A unique new fantasy series perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer L. Armentrout, guaranteed to grip you from the very first page.

Sarah is an international bestselling author who also writes under the pen name S.A. Parker.

She lives in Australia with her husband and children, and spends her days with her nose in a book or her mind in a world of her own creation.

Her genre of choice is epic fantasy romance, and she thrives off dreaming up complex characters and immersive worlds to get lost amongst.

I’m trying out switching the review to the top so let me know what you think of that. There was one ARC review that I did, and the author did a screenshot video of my blog post from their phone and just seeing them having to scroll so far to get to my review – to the point that the video didn’t really get to that part – made me think that maybe putting the review on top would be better in case someone else does something similar.

I’m going to try this out for a while until I get used to it, or until someone says the other way was better. We will see!

Up for grabs, we have a $50 Amazon Gift Card. This giveaway will be open INTL and will run from August 28th to September 5th at 11:59 PM CST. One winner will be chosen. To enter, click the link below!

Rafflecopter Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1e4a114d50/?

5 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: To Bleed a Crystal Bloom by Sarah A. Parker | Review

  1. I immediately noticed that the review came first and then the blurb. For this book, at least, I think reading the review first and then finishing up with the blurb felt really natural and logical. Good review, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s