Blog Tour: Witches of Ashes & Ruin by E. Latimer | Review + Playlist

Blog Tour: Witches of Ashes & Ruin by E. Latimer | Review + Playlist

I was actually really shocked that I got approved for this blog tour and I was so excited to read this! Thank you so much to FFBC for hosting this tour and for having me on it! Be sure to click on the banner for the rest of the tour schedule and be sure to give my fellow hosts some love!

Witches of Ash & Ruin

by E. Latimer
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 3, 2020
Genre: YA Fantasy, LGBT, Queer

GR | Amazon | B&N | iBooks | TBD | Kobo | Google

Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy and A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES.

Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD; the aftermath of being outed as bisexual in her conservative Irish town; and the return of her long-absent mother, who barely seems like a parent. But all that really matters to her is ascending and finally, finally becoming a full witch-plans that are complicated when another coven, rumored to have a sordid history with black magic, arrives in town with premonitions of death. Dayna immediately finds herself at odds with the bewitchingly frustrating Meiner King, the granddaughter of their coven leader.

And then a witch turns up murdered at a local sacred site, along with the blood symbol of the Butcher of Manchester-an infamous serial killer whose trail has long gone cold. The killer’s motives are enmeshed in a complex web of witches and gods, and Dayna and Meiner soon find themselves at the center of it all. If they don’t stop the Butcher, one of them will be next.

With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, E. Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology set against a backdrop of contemporary Ireland that’s impossible to put down.

E. Latimer is a fantasy writer from Victoria, BC. Her middle grade novel, The Strange and Deadly Portraits of Bryony Gray was published by Tundra Books, and was recently nominated for the Red Maple Fiction Award.

In her spare time, she writes books, makes silly vlogs with the Word Nerds about writing, and reads excessively.

Her latest novel, Witches of Ash and Ruin, will be released Spring/Summer 2020 from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

Disclaimer: I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. Thank you to Fantastic Flying Book Club, Netgalley, and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers for this free copy. All quotes in this review are taken from the Advanced Reader Copy and may change in final publication.

There was a little witch in every woman, but not every woman was a witch.

Something about this quote really stuck with me, and I just really loved it. Now, was that my favorite part of the book? Still not sure yet, but it really, really stuck with me.

I will say that this book got me a little bit confused in the beginning. I feel like I was a little lost at some parts, but then I was able to get it together. I think I was just getting some parts mixed up and I feel like I had to reread some things to make sure I was understanding correctly.

I’m still really freaking pissed off that Dayna was outed as bisexual though. I absolutely hate it when people are outed before they are ready, and then really bad circumstances end up happening to them that they weren’t even prepared to handle or deserve. That’s one of my biggest pet peeves in this novel and I hate that outing is used as a plot device in books. Sure it’s a source of drama but it’s painful, even if that person is a fictional character.

Other than that, I thought it was a pretty good book!

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Witches of Ashes & Ruin by E. Latimer | Review + Playlist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s